Mitchell Starc-Ben Duckett catch controversy: ‘Disgrace’, says McGrath but MCC backs umpires

Cleary grounded #EnglandCricket | #Ashes

— England Cricket (@englandcricket) July 1, 2023

However, that was not before Duckett had a huge let-off before stumps when he was brilliantly caught by a diving Starc on the fine leg boundary off Cameron Green’s bowling.

Having almost reached the pavilion, Duckett was sent back as video replays showed that Starc had not had ‘complete control of body and ball’ prompting boos from Australia’s fans and chuntering from the players.

This incident led to sharp reaction from pundits and fans alike. Former Australia players like Glenn McGrath and Ricky Ponting slammed the decision.

“I’m sorry that’s the biggest load of rubbish I’ve ever seen. That ball is under control,” McGrath said on BBC’s Test Match Special. Third umpire Marais Erasmus ruled that after Starc took the catch to dismiss Ben Duckett for 50 he slid the ball along the ground.

“I’ve seen everything this game has to offer. If that is not out then every other catch that’s ever been taken should not be out,” McGrath continued. “That is a disgrace.”

Meanwhile, Marylebone Cricket Club, released a statement and backed the umpire Marias Erasmus.

“In relation to the below incident, Law 33.3 clearly states that a catch is only completed when the fielder has ‘complete control over the ball and his/her own movement.’ The ball cannot touch the ground before then,” the statement said. “In this particular incident, Mitchell Starc was still sliding as the ball rubbed the ground, therefore he was not in control of his movement.”

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *