The Academy invites Taylor Swift, Ke Huy Quan, Austin Butler and others to join | Hollywood


Ke Huy Quan, Austin Butler, Keke Palmer, Paul Mescal and Taylor Swift are among the 398 artists and entertainment executives invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The Oscars Academy has set a new set of rules and regulations.
The Oscars Academy has set a new set of rules and regulations.

If all the invitees accept membership, the total number of overall Academy members will rise to 10,817 as compared to 10,665 last year. Furthermore, the number of voting members for the next Oscars will decrease from 9,665 to 9,375. The 96th Oscars are set to take place on March 10, 2024.

The 2023 class comprises 40% women. Additionally, 34% of the class belongs to underrepresented ethnic/racial communities while 52% hail from 51 countries and territories outside the United States. With the new invitees, the 2024 class will include 34% female, 18% non-white and 20% non-American voting members.

Also Read | Karan Johar, Ram Charan, Jr NTR, Mani Ratnam to become Academy members

The latest set of invitees includes many Oscar winners from the 95th ceremony such as Ke Huy Quan (supporting actor for “Everything Everywhere All at Once”); cinematographer James Friend (“All Quiet on the Western Front”); and composer and songwriter M.M. Keeravani and Chandrabose (“Naatu Naatu” from “RRR”). Alongside, Oscar nominees like Austin Butler (“Elvis”), Paul Mescal (“Aftersun”), Stephanie Hsu (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”) and Kerry Condon (“The Banshees of Inisherin”) were also invited.

Among the invitees are the marketing and awards public relations notables Kelly Dalton from Netflix and Antonio Gimenez-Palazon from Sony Pictures. Alongside, studio executives like Netflix’s Bela Bajaria and the controversial Warner Bros Discovery CEO David Zaslav were invited too. Furthermore, screenwriters like the Nobel-prize-winning Kazuo Ishiguro (“Living”) and Charlotte Wells (“Aftersun”) were included.

Eight filmmakers – Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”), Colm Bairéad (“The Quiet Girl”), Edward Berger (“All Quiet on the Western Front”), Antonio Campos (“The Devil All the Time”), Lukas Dhont (“Close”), Ana Katz (“The Dog Who Wouldn’t Be Quiet”) and Santiago Mitre (“Argentina, 1985”) – have been invited to a multiple of the Academy’s 17 branches. However, upon acceptance, they will be required to choose one.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is a professional honorary organisation that aims to advancethe arts and sciences of motion pictures.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *