TNCA launches talent scout program for women

The Tamil Nadu Cricket Association has launched a Talent Scout Program for women to unearth new talents. The Talent Scout Wing (TSW) which will comprise of former men and women first-class cricketers and coaches will help in identifying the talent across the state in the trials scheduled to begin from May 13.

For the program, the TNCA has formed four groups of four members each who will cover all the 37 districts in Tamil Nadu. Once the TSW shortlists the talent pool, they will be assembled for training camps that will happen across the year, said Sudha Shah, who is the chairman of Cricket Advisory Committee.

Any player who is above 13 years of age can attend the trials. Shah said that while a maximum of 22 players from each district, there is no cap on the number. “If we find more talents, we would accommodate them as well. The selected players will undergo a camp at the respective venues and based on the inputs of the coaches, we will host an inter-district tournament after two years. A total of 20-25 players from the 37 districts will be called to Chennai to train at the TNCA Academy,” Shah said.

The selected players will be also be pooled in with the rest of the cricketers who are featuring in the Freyer Cup. With the talent pool expected to increase, the TNCA has also decided the number of participating teams in the Freyer Cup from 6 to 7 or 8. The Freyer Cup will also be held for T20s and 50-overs.

With the talent pool set to increase over the next couple of years, the TNCA revealed that it has plans to launch the women’s version of the Tamil Nadu Premier League, a franchise-model T20 League, that has become a huge success.

Camp details:

May 13: Nilgris 8 am, Coimbatore 3 pm, Salem 7.30 am, Namakkal 2.30 pm, Madurai 7.30 am, Theni 2 pm, Cuddalore 7 am, Villupuram 2 pm.

May 14: Tiruppur 7 am, Erode 2.30 pm, Krishnagiri 8.30 am, Dharmapuri 2.30 pm, Karur 8 am, Dindigul 2 pm, Thiruvannamalai 7.30 am, Tiruppattur 2.30 pm.

May 17: Vellore 8.30 am, Ranipet 2.30 pm, Kancheepuram 8 am, Chengalpattu 8 am, Thiruvallur 8 am.

May 20: Kanyakumari 7 am, Thenkasi 2.30 pm, Tuticorin 7 am, Ramanathapuram 2.30 pm, Trichy 7 am, Ariyalur 2.30 pm, Mayiladuthurai 7.30 am, Nagapattinam 2.30 pm.

May 21: Virudhunagnar 8 am, Tirunelveli 2.30 pm, Sivagangai 7.30 am, Pudukkottai 2.30 pm, Perambalur 7.30 am, Kallakurichi 2.30 pm, Thiruvarur 7.30 am, Thanjavur 2.30 pm.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *